Blog: Kids Lit Picks

kids picks

5 New Picture Books that Celebrate Dads and Grandads

 

Its Great Being A Dad

It's Great Being A Dad  by Dan Bar-el and Illustrated by Gina Perry 

Pre-K - 2nd Grade

 Dad to the Rescue.  When a unicorn, Bigfoot, a robot, Loch Ness and a princess ballerina doctor get into some serious trouble dad knows just what to do.  But who will save Dad? 

book

 

Picture Books  Holiday  Father's Day  Eva's Picks

 

Mystery Reader Picks: Be Quiet!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Be QuietBe Quiet!

by Ryan T. Higgins 

2nd and 3rd Grade 

This tongue-in-cheek book is about the creation of an artistic wordless book.  Through humorous interjections and downright silly exchanges Rupert mouse and his friends write the least wordless book ever.  It is so “loud” with words on every page that poor Rupert is defeated in his attempt to create a book where he will be the star in a visually stimulating wordless book.  Read to 2nd and 3rd graders for a huge guffaw!!  Pair with the Book with No Pictures and the truly wordless books Flashlight or Journey

 

Mystery Reader Picks  Humor  Eva's Picks  3rd  2nd

 

Mystery Reader: Life On Mars

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

LifeOnMarsLife On Mars 

by Jon Agee 

K - 2nd Grade 

Jon Agee does it again.  If you liked It's Only Stanley, and who wouldn't, you will enjoy Agee's whimsical space exploration-centric Life on Mars.  A lone astronaut sets out to prove that there is in fact life on Mars.   He is disappointed, but wait! Not so fast...  

Large images with high contrast colors and a sparse planetary landscape make this the perfect book to read aloud to a group.  Children and adults alike will be drawn in by the humor in both the text and the pictures of this charming book.

Mystery Reader  K  Humor  Eva's Picks  2nd  1st

 

Picks By Kids: Sophia

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Sophia, 4th Grader Picks:

lightning thiefThe Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan

                  

Sophia recommends The Lightning Thief because there's a lot of adventure, and cliffhangers.  The book is really descriptive and fun!  It's so good! Sophia gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: August

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

August, 5th Grader Picks:

dragonwatchDragonwatch

by Brandon Mull

                  

August recommends Dragonwatch because it is full of surprises and action. August gave the book 4 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Mystery Reader: Monster Trouble

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Monster TroubleMonster Trouble!       

by Lane Fredrickson ; pictures by Michael Robertson

K - 3rd Grade 

Monsters have infested Winifred Schnitzel’s bedroom. They don’t scare her, but they make it hard for her to get any sleep. How will Winifred get these pesky monsters to leave her alone? Luckily, she has a book of monster traps--and a secret weapon! Though Fredrickson’s text appears clunky at first, the rhythm and meter flow beautifully, and the rhyming makes the book perfect for reading aloud to young children without adding a Mother Goose element older children might find off-putting. The delightful traps in Winifred’s Monsters Beware book recall Dr. Seuss and Rube Goldberg, and listeners will love how Winifred eventually solves her monster problem. It’s Robertson’s charming digital illustrations, however, that set Monster Trouble! apart. His artwork mimics a cut-paper collage, allowing for texture and depth, and his style seems to reference Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. The vivid colors counteract the sleepy subject matter and complement Winifred’s bold personality; the images showcase her bravery and ingenuity. He renders the monsters with care, making their monstrous nature obvious yet simultaneously not too scary for the youngest of readers. Perfect for fans of Pixar’s Monsters, Inc. movies and Foster’s, Monster Trouble! is an endearing read-aloud story that will entertain adults and youngsters alike.

 

PreK  Picture Book  Mystery Reader  K  Emily's Picks  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Picks By Kids: Kate

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Kate, 5th Grader Picks:

landofstoriesThe Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

by Chris Colfer

                  

Kate recommends The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell because it is about these two kids and other people that help them. There is a series of these books so you can keep reading after the first book.  Kate gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: Zach

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Zach, 2nd Grader Picks:

snakesSnakes

by Nic Bishop

                  

Zach recommends Snakes because it is about snakes.  This book has every snake in the world. They are awesome. Zach gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: Skylar

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Skylar, 5th Grader Picks:

threetimesluckyThree Times Lucky

by Sheila Turnage

                  

Skylar recommends Three Times Lucky because it is an exciting adventure story about Mo and her best friend Dale.  Her favorite part was when Mo and Dale solve the mysteries of the two murders that occured and also cleared Dale's name. and all the creatures in it exist. Skylar gave the book 5 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Picks By Kids: Veer

 

Calling all Kid Critics!!  Have you read something that you would recommend to a friend? Seen a great movie? Listened to a playaway, audiobook or music that rocked? Here's a chance to share your favorites in our new blog column "Picks By Kids".   Please ask us at the Children's Desk for details on how you can participate and become a published reviewer.

Veer Arora, Age 4  Picks:

rsz 20160730 140943Superworm

by Julia Donaldson

                  Superworm

Veer thinks you would like Superworm because he is really nice and helps everyone. Veer rates the book 4 stars out of 5.

Picks By Kids

 

Archive posts

Collapse all